Showing posts with label 14th KY Infantry. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 14th KY Infantry. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Captain Reuben Patrick and the Williams Gun

Captain Reuben Patrick and the Williams Gun


The story of Captain Reuben Patrick's capture of the famous Williams Gun in Eastern Kentucky during the Civil War never fails to stir up interest and curiosity. His exploits were widely publicized and his display of courage and daring became legendary.

Patrick, a native of Magoffin Co. KY, commanded a small company of home guards and scouts who scoured the mountains for rebels and kept a vigilant eye on his foes. His family were strong Union supporters from the beginning of the war. An older brother, Elijah, served as scout and guide for General "Bull" Nelson during his Eastern
Kentucky Campaign in the fall of 1861. His younger brother Wiley C. Patrick was a lieutenant and later captain of Co. I, 14th KY Infantry. Reuben often worked with detachments of the 14th KY Infantry and was able to provide vital information to the commander of the Eastern KY Military District, on the Big Sandy River at Louisa, KY.

In March of 1863, General Humphrey Marshall entered Eastern Kentucky with a mounted force and, after a march of several days, arrived at Ivyton, Magoffin Co. on March 20, 1863, and bivouacked. During the night, Captain Reuben Patrick, whose residence was only a few miles away, crept up to Marshall's camp and waited until the sentinel fell asleep. Roaming through the sleeping camp, Patrick discovered the Williams Rapid Fire Gun. It was on loan to Humphrey Marshall by a private individual, who was having it tried, with the view of selling it to the Confederate government.
Captain Patrick immediately decided to relieve the general of this rare piece of artillery. Being afraid that rolling it out of camp would awaken the enemy, Patrick quietly unscrewed the cannon from its frame, lifted it from its carriage and carried it into the nearby woods and laid it alongside of an old log, carefully camouflaging it with leaves.

The following morning the Confederates were astounded when they found the carriage but not a trace of the cannon barrel. A thorough search was conducted but nothing was found and thus Marshall grudgingly had to move on empty-handed. The incident was a source of embarrassment to Humphrey Marshall and the loss of the gun rankled deep in Marshall's breast for years.

After the Confederates had left the area, Captain Patrick returned and took charge of the carriage that had been left behind by the Confederates. He reassembled the cannon and rolled it to his home on Burning Fork where Patrick kept it hidden for nearly a month.

On April 17th, 1863, McLaughlin's Squadron were ordered out to reinforce a detachment of the 14th KY Infantry who had captured a number of prisoners in Magoffin Co. Kentucky. When the troopers arrived, Captain Reuben Patrick retrieved the Williams gun from its hiding place and soon the group was headed for Louisa, with Patrick astride the cannon. When they arrived in town, Patrick received quite a reception. "Muskets barked,[and]cannon roared their appreciation of their brave deed."

When the 14th KY Infantry left Eastern Kentucky in May of 1864 to join Sherman in the Atlanta Campaign, Colonel George W. Gallup, 14th KY Infantry, had no intentions of leaving the gun behind at Louisa. He ordered Lt. Jacob M. Poage, Co. E, 14th KY Infantry, to take it to the arsenal in Frankfort, which was done immediately.


On display at the Kentucky Military History Museum, 2008


The Williams Gun was the first machine-gun type weapon ever used in combat. It was built for the Confederate War Dept. in Sept. 1861 by Confederate Captain R.S. Williams from Covington, KY. The rapid fire gun was first used at the Battle of Seven Pines in May 1862, and it worked so well that the War Dept. ordered 42 more of them.

This gun was crank operated, and was a very light artillery piece, and fired a one pound 1.57 cal projectile. It had a range of 2,000 yards. The gun was operated by a lever, that was attached to a revolving cam shaft, which rotated a cylinder. Each time the cylinder turned, a cartridge was dropped into the breech and a sliding hammer hit the cartridge's percussion cap. It took three men to fire this gun at a rate of 60-65 rounds per minute. One man aimed and fired the gun, the second one put a paper cartridge into the breech, and the third man put on the percussion cap. The biggest problem with this gun was overheating, which made the breech jam because of heat expansion. It was the only one of the rapid-fire arms to utilize the gases from the fired round to help operate the mechanism. It was a curious piece and weighed about one hundred and fifty pounds.

After the war, the Williams Gun was on display at the Old Arsenal in Frankfort, KY until 1890 when Captain Patrick decided to take it home to Salyersville for a Patrick reunion. The gun remained in Magoffin County and was displayed on the lawn of the Patrick home until 1950, when John Arnett, Patrick's great-grandson, moved it to Cleveland Heights in Ohio. In 1977, Arnett presented the gun to Nicky Hughes, curator of the Kentucky Military History Museum and Gen. William R. Buster, executive director of the Kentucky Historical Society.


John Arnett, great-grandson of Captain Reuben Patrick (left) and
Humphrey Marshall, great-grandson of General Humphrey Marshall.



It has been on display at the Kentucky Military History Museum and is presently part of the Kentucky Historical Society's exhibition, Kentucky's Military Treasures.

Monday, February 8, 2010

Sherman's Boys ~ The 14th KY in the Civil War

I find it more than appropriate to post this article in honor of Major General William Tecumseh Sherman's birthday today, February 8.

Few generals have gained as much popularity and respect with their men as Sherman did. As his self-confidence grew so did the confidence of the soldiers in their commander and themselves. By the time Sherman embarked on his March to the Sea, his army appeared to be nearly invincible. One of the regiments that served under Sherman was the 14th Kentucky Infantry.

Organization of the regiment began early October 1861, at Louisa, Lawrence County, Kentucky. Only weeks prior, Kentucky had given up its status or neutrality and, by elections, decided to adhere to the Union. Almost immediately Confederate forces under Johnston, Buckner and Zollicoffer crossed into Kentucky and advanced toward Bowling Green, Somerset and Louisville. Excitement ran high across the state and rumors of all sorts were the order of the day.

In this highly charged atmosphere Sherman took over military affairs in Kentucky on October 8, 1861. The very same day he wired General "Bull" Nelson, a fervent Union supporter from Kentucky and a personal friend of Lincoln, to attack the Confederates in Eastern Kentucky. Knowing that the Kentucky troops were utterly unprepared, Sherman did not formally order the attack but left the matter to Nelson's judgment. Sherman was anxious about sufficient supplies for his troops, concerned about military strength of his command and questioned the loyalty of the young Kentuckians.

It is unfortunate that Sherman was not aware of how deep Union sentiment ran with his Kentucky troops. Despite the lack of weapons and uniforms and proper training in even the most basic military operations, federal troops from Kentucky willingly stood to defend and protect their homes, farnilies and the Union - even if it meant death. One officer from Ohio remarked, "To my agreeable surprise I find the Kentucky Union men even more determined to put down this rebellion than our Union men in Ohio. A few evenings since, two Union men belonging to the 14th KY, who were at home sick, on furlough, were dragged from their beds at the hour of midnight and brutally murdered, for no other offense, than having a love for the Union".

Almost exactly one month prior to their muster the 14th KY, together with other troops under command of General Nelson, confronted the Confederates at Ivy Mountain on November 8, 1861 and drove them out of Eastern Kentucky - at least temporarily. From December 1861 until March 1862, the 14th KY participated in the Eastern Kentucky Campaign under James A. Garfield, future president of the United States. About the 14th Ky he noted that it was composed of excellent material but because of its lack of training was hardly more than "a Union loving mob."

In April 1862, the Cumberland Gap Campaign began and the regiment was assigned to the 7th Division, Army of the Ohio, under command or General George W. Morgan. On June 18, the Gap was occupied by Morgans troops and the next two months were spent fortifying this strategic stronghold. In mid-August, the Confederate invasion into Kentucky began and the Gap was completely sunrounded. Cut off from the outside world, Morgans division was facing starvation and capture. After a council of war, Morgan decided on a daring plan to lead his troops from the Gap to the Ohio River on an almost forgotten "Indian Warrior Path", which led through the barren Kentucky mountainside.

Under cover of night, the 7th Division left the Gap and Lt. Colonel Gallup of the 14th KY., with a small party of men, fired the storage buildings, set off mines and exploded the arsenals. The Gap turned into a flaming inferno. After a 16-day march, Morgan's troops reached the Ohio River, half-naked and starved, but in good spirits and free. By now the "mob" of the 14th KY had turned into seasoned veterans, not in small part due to the able leadership of their new Colonel John Cochran, a former officer of the "Lexington Chasseurs".

From 1683 to April 1864, the 14th KY was assigned to duty at home in Eastern Kentucky. By mid-May 1864, the regiment received the call to participate in the Atlanta Campaign under their old commander General Sherman. The 14th KY was assigned to the 2nd Division, XXIII Army Corps. It was a fiery reunion. The day after their arrival in Georgia, one of the supply trains of the XXIII Army Corps, the 14th Ky had been assigned to guard, was attacked by Wheelers cavalry.

Things did not get better - the men had to face the hell at New Hope Church, endure endless rainfalls and knee-deep mud and the constantly whizzing bullets of Confederate sharpshooters which claimed the lives of men every day. The Battle at Foster's Farm on June 2, 1864 was yet another engagement in which the 14th KY performed heroically but sustained tragic losses.

Then came the Battle at Kolb's Farm on June 22, 1864, place of the famous Sherman-Hooker confrontation, which eventually led to Hookers resignation. The XXIII Army Corps was moving toward Marietta on the Powder Springs road - the 14th Ky thrown out as skirmishers - when they encountered a large body of Confederate troops massing in front of them. It was General Wood's Corps. The l4th KY was ordered to proceed forward cautiously and to hold the ground as long as possible in order to give the Union troops enough time to prepare for an attack.

After the first assault, the second regiment of skirmishers, the 123rd NY, fell back and the 14th KY, alone stood the brunt of the next attacks, refusing their left flank and stubbornly holding their ground even after being ordered twice to retire and join the main line. The general Union assault began when the regiment finally retreated.

The following morning Sherman and Hooker were inspecting the grounds where the battle had taken place and viewing the dead, mostly of the 14th KY. Colonel Gallup 14th KY, wrote,"... I lost out of 700 men, 77 killed and wounded, a large loss. The boys are brave. General Hooker, Thomas Mcpherson and Sherman complimented this regiment and says it is the best in the 23 A.C." The same day, a special order was issued by General Hascall, their division commander, complimenting the 14th KY.

It seems that from that day on the regiment was never far from Sherman. On July 18, the 14th KY was seven miles from Rossville on the Cross Keys road where it camped near Sherman's headquarters. Gallup wrote, "I have as yet seen but 2 good houses in Georgia that is in this country, one just beyond at Buck Head. Gen. Sherman has just taken possession of it for headquarters, the people having run away and left their property". Sheman moved toward Atlanta with the XXIII Army Corps and on July 20, Gallup recorded, "Yesterday was a day of much excitement. We were fighting for 3 miles back for every foot of territory that we have got. General Sherman was with our brigade and often exposed himself to fire. One of his staff had his horse killed near the General".

On the day of the Battle of Atlanta, July 22, the 14th KY was positioned directly in front of Sherman's headquarters, occupying the front line, 600-800 yards distant from the enemy's works and 1200 yards from the center of Atlanta. Again, Sherman paid the men a visit. Gallup observed that "General Sherman is along and views with calmness the scene and what we believe to be the doomed city". When General McPherson's body was brought to Sherman's headquarters after being killed in battle, the 14th KY was detailed to guard his body.

On August 26, when Sherman's grand-wheel movement was underway, Gallup noted," General Sherman and his train is now passing where we are constructing our new line of works".

After the end of the Atlanta Campaign the XXIII Army Corps camped at Decatur and then participated in the pursuit of Hood. In November 1864, the 14th KY, was ordered to Johnsonville, Tennessee, where it almost encountered Shermans nemesis "that devil Forrest", missing him only by one day, after his attack on the gunboats and federal depots at Johnsonville.

Only days before the Battle of Franklin, the 14th KY was recalled by the governor of Kentucky. It arrived at Louisa ca. November 21, where it was mustered out on January 31, 1865. The recruits and veterans of the 14th KY were organized as the 14th KY Battalion which was mustered out on September 15, 1865 at Louisville.

There is no doubt the the men were proud of their Uncle Billy. The Atlanta Campaign and their commander made an impact on their lives - it was something they never forgot and also told their children and grandchildren about, some of whom bore Sherman's name.

This article was written by Marlitta H. Perkins and first published in "Cump and Co." in 1998 and re-published in 2001 in the 14th KY Newsletter.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

A Masterful Retreat



During the Civil War, several armies passed through Owsley County, among them the Union command of Gen. George W. Morgan as it retreated from Cumberland Gap to Greenup, Kentucky in 1862. Kentucky Historical Marker # 645, located on the courthouse lawn in Booneville, titled "A Masterful Retreat", reminds passers-by in a few simple words of one of the most extraordinary events of the Civil War.

During Bragg's massive invasion of Kentucky in late summer of 1862, General George W. Morgan and his 7th Division, Army of the Ohio, ran the gauntlet of 200+ miles from Cumberland Gap by way of Manchester, Booneville, and West Liberty, following in part the "Old Warrior Path", an old forgotten trail used by the Indians, to Greenup on the Ohio River. Morgan marched his men through the barren Eastern Kentucky Mountains with barely any food and water while being harassed in his front, rear and flanks by Confederate Cavalry under John Hunt Morgan and his famed Raiders. Obstructions were overcome and the enemy bravely met whenever he offered battle.


After evacuating the Gap during the night of September 17, 1862, George W. pressed his division on to Manchester, via Cumberland Ford and Flat Lick. On September 21, after allowing his men adequate rest, Morgan left camp at the Goose Creek Salt Works near Manchester and proceeded on his way to Proctor on the Kentucky River, at which point the road to Greenup and Maysville diverged. Reaching Morris' Farm, Morgan divided his troops into two columns - Spears' and DeCourcy's Brigades took the hill road directly to Proctor while Carter's and Baird's Brigades marched via Booneville to Proctor.
By 9 p.m., the last of Morgan's column had left Manchester.

The following morning, September 22, DeCourcy's and Spears' brigades were slowly marching toward Proctor until 10 a.m. and rested until 5 p.m., when their column was set in motion again. Sometime during the march, Confederate cavalry suddenly made its appearance in the rear, capturing 9 men from the 3rd TN Infantry who had straggled off in search of something to eat. When the Confederate cavalry came on again, they were successfully repulsed by the 42nd OVI, which was guarding the rear. The column marched until 10 p.m. when the men were finally allowed to camp for the night, about 19 miles from Manchester.

Meanwhile, Baird's Brigade, with Carter's lagging behind, had proceeded from Clark's before daylight. After marching all day, the troops finally went into camp on the Red Bird Fork of the Kentucky River, in an open field and orchard, near a farm house, which was occupied by Baird and his staff. Col. Coburn of the 33rd IND Infantry took a fence-corner as his bedchamber, which the 14th KY Infantry in less than an hour "turned out to graze" by simply relieving that corner, and many others, of its fence rails. Coburn told the Kentuckians not to take away the ground and went back to sleep...but he did not get to enjoy it for long. The old farmer had a lot of geese which soon were heard squalling and flying over the camp and making more noise than would have waked Rome. Alarmed by the noise, General Baird became nervous about a string of about 30 bee-hives which flanked the path from the house to the gate-way. He sent word to Coburn to have them guarded and a sentinel was posted but no rest was to be had that night.

Only minutes later, Coburn was ordered to take the 33rd Indiana to Booneville to prevent the local mill from being destroyed by the Confederates. Word had been received that none other than John Hunt Morgan had burned the steam mill at Proctor and destroyed all the provisions in town. During the day, Morgan had arrived at Irvine, 18 miles from Proctor, with orders from Kirby Smith to assume command of all the cavalry in that section and to destroy all mills and grain in the Manchester area. Realizing that he was too late to accomplish this particular objective, he set out for Proctor instead, laying waste to mill and forage that Federal Morgan and his men so desperately needed. The possibility that he would attempt to do the same at Booneville were better than great. No time was to be lost - the honey guard was taken off immediately and the men moved out. After a forced night march, the 33rd Indiana arrived in town during the early morning hours of September 23 - the old wheels of the mill were still rattling, making "merry music to the ears of the hungry".

Coburn's march undoubtedly saved the mill at Booneville. John Hunt Morgan appeared to be near town when the Federals arrived, as his dispatch to Kirby Smith reveals, informing his commander that "the forces from Cumberland Gap passed through Booneville." Morgan also reported that he had captured several prisoners of the command who informed their captors that George W. Morgan's column was attempting to reach Maysville.

Little did Confederate Morgan realize that he had been fooled by a well-conceived plan by Federal Morgan. Before leaving Manchester, Morgan had directed Captain George M. Adams, his Division Commissary, to send an officer with an escort of 2 or 3 of Mundy's Cavalry, toward Mount Sterling, with written authority to buy whatever supplies could be found, deceiving the Confederates about his true intentions. Fully aware that they might be captured, the men set out - and the plan worked.

Upon receiving John Hunt Morgan's dispatch, Kirby Smith ordered all his available troops to concentrate at Mt. Sterling, expecting Federal Morgan's troops to pass through town on their way to Maysville. He would use Morgan's Cavalry force to slow the Federal advance long enough to collect all his forces at Mt. Sterling in a timely manner to mount an attack on Morgan.

Back in Booneville, the remainder of Baird's brigade as well as Carter's, with the wagon train and the heavy artillery, had filed into town by four o'clock in the afternoon, "a small place, though it is the Co. seat of Owsley Co.", as one member of the 49th Indiana Infantry remarked.

Accompanying Baird's and Carter's troops were about 120 men of the 4th East TN Cavalry who, upon their arrival at Booneville, paid a visit to Huram Evans and his family. Evans owned a fine horse which was promptly requisitioned. A voucher for the animal, worth $100, was issued to Evans by Maj. Luther M. Blackman, quartermaster of the unit.

While in town, the men rested up, collected supplies, and ate supper. By 9 p.m. the column resumed its march to Proctor. Soon the waning daylight made it too difficult and dangerous to proceed any further over the rough road and steep hills and orders were given to halt, with Carter's Brigade bivouacking within three miles of Proctor.

While Carter and Baird had reached Booneville, DeCourcy's Brigade had passed Burning Spring in the morning and after a march of 9 miles halted at Big Spring. Here the last rations were issued, consisting of a pound or two each of flour, sugar, and coffee for each mess. The soldiers baked some bread and cooked up some coffee before they started again at 1 o'clock in the afternoon. The column slowly wound its way to Proctor on the Kentucky River, a distance of 16 miles, having yet another encounter with Morgan's Cavalry which successfully managed to capture a small herd of beef cattle that had been driven in the rear of the column. Morgan then by-passed the Federal column and proceeded to Proctor, coolly awaiting the Federals' arrival. Finally, DeCourcy filed into town at 8 o'clock at night, nearly famished for water. John Hunt Morgan fell back to Irvine.

The following day, September 24, Morgan's two columns finally united at Proctor. Finding the mill burned by J. H. Morgan and all supplies destroyed, the command remained in town only for a few hours. Fully expecting to be attacked at this point, General Morgan threw a brigade and a battery across the KY River and carefully pondered his next move.

A decision was made quickly. Instead of turning toward Mt. Sterling, he chose to proceed on the more difficult path - through the mountains and on to Hazel Green. Once again, the Division was divided. DeCourcy and Spears were to move on the Ridge Road, which was then completely destitute of water. Carter and Baird, as well as Capt. Patterson with his sappers and miners from the Engineers Corps, plus the wagon trains and heaviest artillery, were to march on the North Fork Road, which had water but which had been greatly damaged and in parts destroyed from the torrents of the previous year. The two columns were to meet at Hazel Green, a distance of 25 miles from Proctor.

At 10 a.m., DeCourcy's brigade was the first to leave Proctor and by 3 p.m. the last of Morgan's troops filed out of town. After marching 1 1/2 miles, Carter's men came up with the train of Baird's Brigade and found the narrow road so blocked by it that he was compelled to camp there for the night.

Soon after George W. Morgan's departure for Hazel Green, John Hunt Morgan once again returned to Proctor with his cavalry to renew his pursuit of the Federal column.



Passing through Compton in the early afternoon on September 25, DeCourcy's and Spears' brigades reached Hazel Green late in the evening and camped in a meadow above the town, near the future Hazel Green Academy and set about to collect and obtain forage for the hungry soldiers.

Meanwhile, Carter's and Baird's brigades struggled on their way down the North Fork Road. Water could be found, but only in stagnant pools or climbing down 100 foot cliffs.
Due to the broken country and rough road which was considered impassable by the inhabitants of the area, the trains caused much delay. Finally, after a 10 mile march, Carter and Baird had reached the North Fork of the KY River in the late afternoon and went into camp.

The following morning, September 26, Carter and Baird were faced with more problems. Part of the road had been washed away and a new one needed to be constructed to allow safe passage. Successfully accomplishing this task, the brigades began ascending a mountain with the trains and batteries. Regiments were required to stack arms and lift wagons and guns over the more difficult parts of the ascent.

To add to the difficulties, John Hunt Morgan's Cavalry had swung around the Federals and commenced blockading every suitable point of the road in their front with felled trees and rocks. But Morgan's Raiders were no match to Patterson's Pioneers. A number of wagons were loaded with axes and shovels which were distributed among the regiments and in just a short time the obstructions were removed. Slowly, but steadily, Carter's and Baird's Brigades wound their way through the mountains and on to Hazel Green which was reached at midnight. Exhausted, the men went into bivouac.

Morgan's march to the Ohio River continued for another seven days. Passing through West Liberty and Sandy Hook, his division finally reached Grayson on October 1, despite blockaded roads and attacks by John Hunt Morgan's cavalry, as well as shortness of food stuffs - even the paw-paws had been exhausted. When the famished soldiers discovered some oak trees, the bitter acorns were picked up and devoured like delicacies.

At Grayson, a disappointed John Hunt Morgan finally gave up his pursuit, remarking, "Tis no use trying to stop that damned Yankee Morgan, for he can march over fallen trees faster than I can in good roads, and can take artillery where the devil can't go".



Finally, on October 3, Greenup and the Ohio River began looming up in the distance. The 42nd OVI unfurled their two beautiful banners and Morgan's column, the "lost Division", marched with firm and steady step into town, welcomed by hearty cheers, families lining the street, women offering food and drink to the footsore, faint and hungry men.

Thus ended one of the most daring and spectacular military actions of the Civil War to take place in Kentucky. 28 pieces of artillery were brought through the mountains, including a siege battery, plus 120 army wagons. The fact that General Morgan had accomplished this task with only a loss of 80 men, 4 wagons and none of his artillery pieces, is a credit to his abilities as a General but even more so a high tribute to the perseverance of the 10,000 men who served under his command and the ten women who participated on this march.

© 2003 by Marlitta H. Perkins
us14thky@hotmail.com

Originally published in 2003 in the South Fork Country News, newsletter of the Owsley County Historical Society, Kentucky.